Thinking about my great-uncle.

August 12, 2009

My great-uncle, who I always called “Pop,” passed away last night; his wife, who I called “Mimi” (but most called Aunt Mill or Millie) died over a year ago. They were married for something like 65 years. We know from a diary she kept for our benefit — given to her by a grandchild, full of questions about family history — that she had never had a boyfriend before Pop, but he had had a girlfriend or two, and she didn’t like that. Fifty years of marriage, and she still had the capacity to be jealous! Clearly we were related. They met at the market. He was a stockboy, and she was fifteen, picking up groceries. As I recall, they were secretly engaged for a while…

The two of them were never apart as long as I knew them, and they constantly worried about one another, she about his health, he about her loneliness. He used to sit in the room with her and hold her hand when she was at the dentist. Maybe that’s what love is, just worrying obsessively, helplessly, irrationally about someone every moment. Or, at least, that’s what I’ve seen of love, so that’s all I have to offer as a definition.

I’m not someone with an immense amount of faith, and in a lot of ways, I believe what I want to when I want to, and care to, and have to. This is one of those “have to” times. I have to believe that they are together, for the first time in way too long for both of them. They are so so happy, still in love, and without a single thing to worry about.

Home to NJ for a few days…

One Response to “Thinking about my great-uncle.”

  1. Jess Says:

    That was a nice post Annie. My thoughts are with you and your family.


Leave a Reply

