Love Happens With Robots.

September 11, 2009

On a lighter note.

I work in midtown for the moment, and treading the same few blocks every day, I encounter the same posters for upcoming movies and television shows. The more I see them, the more issues I find I have with these two promotional images.

Surrogates.

Okay, I get it: it’s Robo-Jolie. I am strangely tranfixed by the idea behind this high-concept movie: it’s like Cruising meets “The Sims” — and, for no extra charge, you get Bruce Willis in a terrible toupet! (You gotta watch the trailer for this.) That said, fixation confessed, this “edgy” campaign is not edgy at all. Sexy robots? Really? Does anyone remember the fembots from the first Austin Powers? That’s right. S&M aesthetic or not, sexy robots are high camp, and these posters seem to have no concept of that.

Love Happens.

Great title: now I don’t have to go see it. If anyone had asked me, I would have said, “Hey, don’t tell me the ending in the title. That’s what trailers are for!” Wouldn’t it have been better to call the movie “Maybe Love Will Happen” or “Hey, Is Love Going to Happen or Not?” or “When is Jennifer Aniston going to find a husband already?!?!”

You know I’m a sucker for chick flicks, but this is not my kind of movie. When Love Happens, must it look like two golden retrievers nuzzling?

4 Responses to “Love Happens With Robots.”

  1. Jess Says:

    I never realized it before (I’ve been seeing that poster a lot lately), but your comment about how they look like golden retrievers nuzzling (dead-on, by the way) makes me notice that they look really similar, almost like siblings. Maybe this is an edgy movie about incest? Likely not, but at least it would take Aniston out of her comfort zone as an actress.

  2. Genevieve Says:

    Oh nuzzling golden retrievers. If there is anything that Hollywood has taught me, it is that, given the option, the person always ends up with someone of the same hair color (see Much Ado About Nothing, Kennith Branagh style, for proof).

  3. Amanda Says:

    GOLDEN RETRIEVERS! I thought the exact same thing. I walked into a movie theater on 42nd not knowing what I wanted to see. All that was playing was that kiddie meatball movie, a couple slashers and Jennifer Anniston’s dog love story. I walked right out, went to the theater across the street, and saw BRIGHT STAR (which was very good by the way).

  4. rachel hensel Says:

    you’re perfect.


Leave a Reply

